New Zealand Secondary School Cross Country Relay Champs

An exciting new event is planned as part of the 2016 NZSS Cross Country Championships in Rotorua. After Saturdays individual races athletes are encouraged to attend a **regional relay** event held at the same location. Athletes will compete in relay teams of five runners each completing a 2000m lap. Three divisions across both girls and boys grades will provide a competitive and spectator friendly event. Schools are encouraged to have their entire team attend the event in an effort to support selected athletes and to help create a festival atmosphere.

Athletes

Selection to represent your region will likely take place at your regional championships prior to the NZSSCC Champs. Your performance on the Saturdays NZSSCC champs may also help determine your selection. Please note that you will be representing your region and <u>not your school</u> so a different uniform will be required to compete in. NZSSAA will endeavor to list the names of team managers on the website prior to the event. Should you be aiming to represent your region please ensure that your team/school manager makes arrangements for your accommodation and transport accordingly.

Managers

Team managers for each of the sixteen regions are being sought. Responsibilities will include selecting both girls and boys teams in each of the three grades, Year 9, Junior and Senior. Further responsibilities will include liaising with selected athletes to ensure correct regional uniform is worn, submitting team lists, and athlete management during the event. Multiple managers per region are allowed.

Please email expressions of interest to b.smith@tbc.school.nz

Timeframe

Saturday

Team lists given to the event organizers by team managers at the completion of the prize giving at approx. 4pm.

Sunday

9:30am	Girls relay event (Y9, Jnr and Snr all compete at same time)
11:00am	Boys relay event (Y9, Jnr and Snr all compete at same time)
12:00pm	Prize giving held at the completion of the boy's event.

Regions

North Island

Northland, North Harbour, Auckland, Counties / Manukau, Waikato / BOP, Taranaki, Manawatu, Wairarapa, East Coast North Island, Whanganui, Wellington.

South Island

Tasman, Canterbury, Aoraki, Otago, Southland