SAS logo
News from the NZSSAA
Filter by

California Athletics Tour 2015

1 September 2014 6:33pm

The California Athletics Tour 2015 is currently being organised, and expressions of interest are encouraged from New Zealand secondary school athletes in all events. The team leaves Auckland on March 31 and returns April 20. The team will be based in Los Angeles and compete in meets over three weekends in Northern and Southern California. This is the fifth California Tour and many personal bests have been achieved against top U.S. high school competition in an ideal climate. For more information, contact Greg Lautenslager at the National Academy of Distance Running at (03) 923-2321 or via e-mail: coach@nzrunningacademy.co.nz.

Draft dates and venues for 2015

14 August 2014 10:45pm

The following are the draft dates and venues for the 2015 championships. These are subject to NZSSSC sanctioning in September.

Please note that due to resurfacing of the Dunedin track, there has had to be a change of venue for the South Island Champs. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause.

  • North Island Secondary Schools Athletics Championships, Mt Smart, Auckland March 28-29
  • South Island Secondary Schools Athletics Championships, Nelson March 28-29 (changed)
  • New Zealand Secondary Schools Cross Country Championships, Dunedin June 20
  • New Zealand Secondary Schools Track, Field and Road Race Championships, Timaru December 5-6

Beamish and English Victorious at Cross Country Champs

21 June 2014 10:21pm

Geordie Beamish (Wanganui Collegiate) and Hanna English (Columba College, Dunedin) were the winners of the senior championship races at the New Zealand Secondary Schools Cross Country Championships in Palmerston North today.

Beamish sat with the lead group of ten athletes for the first of three laps before the group dropped to six runners by the end of the second lap in the heavy conditions at Massey University. Beamish outlasted the others and had the legs to cuarry him to the title in 21:05, Daniel Hoy (Westlake Boys) and Sean Eustace (Burnside High). Eustace lead his team to first place in both the three and six person teams championships.

Hanna English ran near the front of the senior girls field with a small group before stamping her authority on the race and edging ahead to win in 16:06 by five seconds from Audrey Gregan (St Cuthberts, Auckland) and Isabella Richards (St Kentigern, Auckland). Gregan finished in the same place as last year, but had the satisfaction of leading the St Cuthbert’s team toboth the three and six person teams championships.

St Andrews College in Christchurch provided the winners for both of the junior races. Mitchell Small won the boys race from Isiah Priddey (Hamilton Boys) and James Uhlenberg (Sacred Heart, Auckland), while Ari Graham was winner if the girls race from Zia MacDermid (Awatapu College) and Harriet Bush (St Margaret’s College, Christchurch).

The Year Nine championship races were won by Samual Tanner (Bethlehem College, Tauranga) and Olivia Corrin (Gisborne Girls).

Josh Rosie, (Kings High School), Ruby Morrison (Solway College) and Anton Besseling (New Plymouth Boys) were winners in the Para-Athlete categories.

The championships attracted 950 entrants from 125 secondary schools throughout New Zealand.

Cross Country Champs

17 June 2014 8:12pm

The NZSSAA Cross Country Championships will take place at Massey University, Palmerston North, 21 June.

National Secondary Schools' Cross Country Championships A 40 Year History

22 May 2014 2:00pm

The NZSSAA Executive congratulate Brad Smith on his excellent publication that chronicles all top three teams and all top ten individuals in all grades at every NZSS Cross Country since the inaugural event at Cuthbert’s Green Christchurch in 1974.

This document painstakingly put together by Brad is a wonderful historical document of the sport and makes fascinating reading.

Further information can be found by contacting Brad.

Athletics Australia and Australian Schools' Cross Country Championships

15 May 2014 10:00am

The Athletics Australia and Australian Schools’ Cross Country Championships are to be held in Perth, 23-25 August.

Information is available below for athletes interested in competing.

Expressions of interest for the positions of coach/manager (2-3 required depending on team numbers) to take a NZSSAA team to this competition are called for. Applications should be emailed to Geoff Shaw, NZSSAA Chairman by June 6.

Please provide a brief resume of your experience with secondary school cross country athletes and events. If you have any questions please email Geoff Shaw.

NI and SI Results

6 April 2014 9:07am

Results from day 1 are now available.

South Island

North Island

South Island Champs

26 March 2014 8:33am

Information for the South Island Champs is now available.

Fields (scratchings and some event requests not yet processed):

Entries for this event are now open, to enter this event you must have qualified correctly through your regional process – for information on your region’s processes please contact your local Regional Sport Director.

If you are ready to enter please follow the link. Note that online entries only available for Otago and South land schools. Entries for all other regions are made by the regional selectors.

North Island Champs

5 March 2014 1:28pm

Information for the North Island Champs is now available.

Online entries are now open. Please note that entries are made only by regional selectors or team managers who make the entries for their region.

Lydiard Foundation Course

27 February 2014 7:57am

Paper Team Application Form

26 December 2013 8:43pm

Below is the application form for the 2013 paper teams. The application form for the 2012 athletes is also still available.

NZSSAA Track, Field and Road Race Championships 2013 Results

7 December 2013 9:42pm

Full results are now available.


News page: previous  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  next