SAS logo
News from the NZSSAA
Filter by

Beamish and English Victorious at Cross Country Champs

21 June 2014 10:21pm

Geordie Beamish (Wanganui Collegiate) and Hanna English (Columba College, Dunedin) were the winners of the senior championship races at the New Zealand Secondary Schools Cross Country Championships in Palmerston North today.

Beamish sat with the lead group of ten athletes for the first of three laps before the group dropped to six runners by the end of the second lap in the heavy conditions at Massey University. Beamish outlasted the others and had the legs to cuarry him to the title in 21:05, Daniel Hoy (Westlake Boys) and Sean Eustace (Burnside High). Eustace lead his team to first place in both the three and six person teams championships.

Hanna English ran near the front of the senior girls field with a small group before stamping her authority on the race and edging ahead to win in 16:06 by five seconds from Audrey Gregan (St Cuthberts, Auckland) and Isabella Richards (St Kentigern, Auckland). Gregan finished in the same place as last year, but had the satisfaction of leading the St Cuthbert’s team toboth the three and six person teams championships.

St Andrews College in Christchurch provided the winners for both of the junior races. Mitchell Small won the boys race from Isiah Priddey (Hamilton Boys) and James Uhlenberg (Sacred Heart, Auckland), while Ari Graham was winner if the girls race from Zia MacDermid (Awatapu College) and Harriet Bush (St Margaret’s College, Christchurch).

The Year Nine championship races were won by Samual Tanner (Bethlehem College, Tauranga) and Olivia Corrin (Gisborne Girls).

Josh Rosie, (Kings High School), Ruby Morrison (Solway College) and Anton Besseling (New Plymouth Boys) were winners in the Para-Athlete categories.

The championships attracted 950 entrants from 125 secondary schools throughout New Zealand.

Cross Country Champs

17 June 2014 8:12pm

The NZSSAA Cross Country Championships will take place at Massey University, Palmerston North, 21 June.

News page: 1