Christchurch Results Article courtesy of Murray McKinnon, Athletics NZ Weekly Round Up 50th New Zealand Secondary Schools Track and Field Championships and 48th Road Race Championships, Ngā Puna Wai Sports Hub – 8/10 December 2023

Hannah Collins, in her home city, soared out to a personal best triple jump of 12.46m +1.3 to win the senior girls' title and in the process added a centimetre to Kayla Goodwin's 2019 schools record.

Para Athlete Jaxon Woolley T38 of Papamoa College went on a record breaking spree, setting new Schools records and New Zealand records in the 100m 12.28 -0.2 and 200m 24.90 -1.2 and Schools records in the 400m 59.54 and the long jump 4.14m +0.8.

Joe Dolphin won the senior boys' 100m title, 22 years after his father James Dolphin won the 100m title at the secondary schools championships in Dunedin in 2001. Joe narrowly won from Kadin Taylor in a wind assisted 10.58, which was under Ben Potter's 1997 schools record of 10.60.

Rylan Noome was also under the schools record of 21.39 in the 200m with his wind assisted time of 21.28.

James Ford captured the 400m and 800m double as well as anchoring his Kings College team to victory in the 4 x 400m relay. Ford headed in Kahurangi Cotterill in the 400m the same two senior placings as at last year's championships in Inglewood.

Daniel Prescott recorded a personal best 3:56.64 in claiming the 1500m title beating Jamie Mora who clocked 3:55.65. Mora had earlier won the 3000m in 8:33.75.

Senior titles retained from last year were: Ford 400m, Noome 200m, Jonah Cropp 3000m race walk, James Hansen 300m hurdles, Louie Endres 2000m steeplechase and Blessing Sefo shot put.

Mia De jager won the senior girls 200m in 24.19 +2.9 and the high jump with a PB 1.80m. Boh Ritchie, a year after winning the junior girls 1500m/3000m titles, collected the 800m/1500m double and Catherine Lund maintained her winning form in the 3000m and 4km road title.

Rina Maka with a PB 47.67m won the senior discus throw while her brother Troy won the junior boys shot put and retained his discus title.

Senior girls titles retained from last year: Alana Mathews 3000m race walk, Charlotte Goldsmith long jump, Hannah Collins triple jump and Catherine Lund 4km road race. Goldsmith also teamed up with her St Cuthbert's College team to win both senior girls relays.

In the junior boys Ben Oxford, last year's steeplechase winner, opted for the 1500m/3000m double which he secured in 4:06.87 and a PB 8:39.55. Sam Ruthe was a close second on both occasions.

Rianco Haggard was the hurdles champion, with clear victories in the 100m and 300m hurdles.

Alysa Brown set a Schools best performance time of 10:13.30 in the junior girls 2000m race walk. Imogen Barlow was a double winner racing through to take out the 1500m and 3000m.

Kendra Scally-Tu'i was impressive winning the junior girls sprint double in 12.28 +1.2 and the 200m in a PB 24.64 +1.2.

Karmen-Elizabeth Maritz held her own in the throws with personal bests of 14.80m in the shot put and also a Schools record of 46.63m in the discus.

Lisa Hellyer last year's junior girls 800m champion moved up in distance to win the 4km road race. Paige Fletcher was nearly 10 meters better than her last year's winning throw in the junior girls hammer retaining the title with a PB 53.61m.