The NZSSAA (Inc.) was formed in Christchurch at the beginning of 1973 by a small group of secondary school teachers.

The aims of the Association are:

  1. To organize New Zealand Secondary Schools Championships annually at various centres throughout New Zealand.
  2. To encourage the participation in athletics of secondary school pupils from every New Zealand Secondary school.
  3. When financially possible, to organise and select teams to take part in international competition.
  4. To advance the interests of athletics generally and of secondary school athletics in particular.



  • Tony Rogers – Sport Waikato, Hamilton


  • Angela Russek – St Peter’s School, Cambridge


  • Brad Smith – Tauranga Boys’ College, Tauranga

Immediate Past President

  • John Tylden – Ohope

Regional Representatives

Central North Island

  • Jessica Patrick – St Peter’s School, Cambridge

Southern North Island

  • Alec McNab – Wanganui Collegiate, Whanganui

Northern South Island

  • John Gamblin – St Bede’s College, Christchurch

Southern South Island

  • Glen Ward – Dunedin


  • Jakub Kalinowski – St Peter’s College, Auckland
  • Paul Meads – Pukekohe High School, Pukekohe
  • Michelle Pollard – Tauranga Girls’ College, Tauranga
  • Rhys Taucher – Sacred Heart College, Auckland

Life Members

Life Members

  • Alan Bennett
  • Don Chadderton
  • Graeme Daly
  • Mike Lindroos
  • Alec McNab
  • Murray McRae
  • Natalie McRae
  • John Tylden
  • Glen Ward
  • Marie Washbourn
  • Don Willoughby

Former Life Members

  • John McTaggat

Service Awards